Congratulations to MGA Award Winners

MGA Larry K. Wilson Transnational Award

(one awarded annually, receive plaque and US$1,000)To recognize the accomplishment judged to be the most significant and effective in fulfilling one or more of the goals and strategic objectives of MGA as related to transnational activities.  This award is made in memory of Dr. Larry K. Wilson whose biography is listed below.

Takako Hashimito (R10), Tokyo Section

For inspiring leadership and contributions to IEEE Women in Engineering across the world with the mission: Inspire, Encourage, Engage and Empower.

MGA Innovation Award

(one awarded annually, receive plaque and US$1,000)To recognize an individual, or a team, whose accomplishment/project is judged to be the most innovative and effective in fulfilling one or more of the strategic goals of MGA. 

Kathy Herring Hayashi (R6), San Diego Section

For outstanding innovation and leadership in initiating the successful “IEEE Evening of Innovation” industry collaboration for members with the IEEE Honors Ceremony.

MGA Achievement Award

(up to 6 Awarded Annually, receive plaque and US$250)To recognize individuals, or a team, involved with MGA and its organizational units for singular achievement in the development and completion of a project(s) or activity(ies) which are directed to the fulfillment of one or more of the MGA goals. This award is designed to recognize those substantive projects or achievements of a relatively short nature (one to three years), but which have left an undeniable imprint on the fabric of regional operations.

Team: Emily BarrettSeemita Pal and Nikitha Radhakrishnan, (R6), Richland Section

For organizing a highly successful Women in Engineering International Leadership Summit in the USA Pacific Northwest.

Congratulations to the 2020 IEEE Medal and Award Recipients

IEEE WIE would like to congratulate the 2020 IEEE Medal and Award recipients.

IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal
Leah Jamieson – Ransburg Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal
Cynthia Dwork (nonmember)—Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

IEEE Haraden Pratt Award
Mary Ellen Randall Founder/CEO of Ascot Technologies, Inc., Cary, North Carolina, USA

Learn more and view a full list of IEEE Medal and Award recipients.

Congratulations to the 2020 Class of IEEE Fellows

IEEE WIE would like to recognize 37 women who will be elevated to IEEE Fellow effective 1 January 2020. View the list of the 2020 class of IEEE Fellows.

Three Women to Receive 2020 IEEE Technical Field Awards.

In 2020, three women—Evelyn L. Hu, Eve. M. Schooler, and Solveig M. Ward—will receive Technical Field Awards, which are some of the highest awards given on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors. Get to know the women who will be receiving some of IEEE’s highest awards.

Returning Mothers -Rediscovering the lost talent pool- Conference 13-14 November 2019

Women in Engineering–Book 22: Passion & Perseverance–One Woman’s Career History

This conference is organized by IEEE Women in Engineering and the World Bank Group on Energy and Extractives, held 13-14 November 2019 at Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering, Bengaluru. The conference aims to bring together experts in various multidisciplinary programs to enable collaboration, cooperation and mentorship. Learn more about how you can participate.

eBooks from IEEE-USA

Women in Engineering–Book 22: Passion & Perseverance–One Woman’s Career History

Karen S. Pedersen is proof that it is never too late to get your engineering degree. In fact, waiting a few years can be the best path. Karen, an IEEE Senior Member, 2017 IEEE-USA President, a Fellow in the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE), and a licensed P.E. in three states – graduated from Iowa State University 17 years after receiving her high school diploma. IEEE Members receive a special savings off the retail price. Learn more

Engineer your future!

The new IEEE Learning Network (ILN) gives you easy access to online learning content from across IEEE, all in one place. Visit iln.ieee.org and browse more than 700 courses on core and emerging technologies, leadership skills, and more. Get the skills you need to advance in your career.
Special offer for Women in Engineering members! For a limited time, purchase any of these courses for 50% off the member price. Simply enter code ILNWIE at checkout. Courses included in this offer are:
Innovation at Work
Stay up to date on the technology people are talking about! IEEE Innovation at Work provides free, short articles each week that explore the technologies being covered by sites like Forbes, Business Insider, and The Verge. Subscribe for the weekly digest, right from the site, so you never miss an article. Get started at innovationatwork.ieee.org.
Seeking Authors! We are always looking for engineers who are interested in submitting 300-500 word articles for the Innovation at Work site. If you’d like to submit an article about the technology you’re passionate about, please email Jennifer Fong at j.fong@ieee.org.

2019 MGA Outstanding Section Award Recipients Announced

On 22 June 2019, the IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Board selected the following recipients of the 2019 MGA Outstanding Large, Medium and Small Section Awards, based on 2018 activities:
  • 2019 MGA Outstanding Large Section Award recipient is the IEEE Bangalore Section from Region 10
  • 2019 MGA Outstanding Medium Section Award recipient is the IEEE South Africa Section from Region 8
  • 2019 MGA Outstanding Small Section Award recipient is the IEEE Kenya Section from Region 8
Congratulations to the Bangalore, South Africa and Kenya Sections for being selected for these awards “For successful efforts in fulfilling the educational and scientific goals of IEEE for the benefit of the public by maintaining, enhancing, and supporting the Student Branches, Technical Chapters, and Affinity Groups within their geographic boundaries.”

2020 IEEE Technical Field Award and 2019 Herz Award Recipients Announced

The IEEE Board of Directors has approved the 2020 IEEE Technical Field Award (TFA) and 2019 IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award recipients. The complete list of recipientsand their citations is posted online at www.ieee.org/awards. Please feel free to send notes of congratulations and to publicize the recipientswithin your professional fields of interest other IEEE affiliations.