IEEE-EtaKappa Nu (IEEE-HKN) is the honor Society of IEEE. It consists of more than 200,000 professionals and university students worldwide in the IEEE fields of interest.

IEEE-HKN is recognized around the globe as the one honor Society that represents the highest values of our profession. It identifies and develops technical leaders through community service, leadership opportunities, and life-long experience. Approximately 3,000 IEEE-HKN members are inducted each year. These students and professionals help feed the volunteer pipeline for IEEE Societies, Councils and MGA activities at all levels.

Eta Kappa Nu, founded in 1904 at the University of Illinois, merged with IEEE in 2010. It now has more than 269 University Chapters across 29 countries.

The IEEE-HKN life-long designation is earned: Individuals must be invited to join IEEE-HKN. Student members represent the top 25% of their junior class and top 33% of their senior class of their first academic degree, as well as Graduate Students and PhD candidates.

Professionals are eligible for induction based on their professional contributions, volunteer service, and commitment to the principles of IEEE-HKN. Individuals must be nominated and receive endorsements of a current member.  All members must demonstrate exceptional character to their peers, and must possess the proper attitude to work hard, to continually challenge themselves, and be willing to help others.

IEEE-HKN runs several conferences, webinars, podcasts, and events for students, young professionals and members, an Annual Student Leadership Conference for HKN members and leaders, publishes THE BRIDGE Magazine, offers an Award Program, as well as programs for our Alumni.   HKN members include:  Steve Wozniak, Henry Samueli, Vint Cerf, Iwrin Jacobs, Lisa Su, Mary Barra, Larry Page, Marty Cooper, Thelma Estrin, and so many more!

To learn more, contact Nancy Ostin, Director, at or visit

Celia was nominated by an HKN Member due to her professional contributions, volunteer work, and commitment.  Her application required two endorsements and an overview of her professional career and commitment to participate in the honor Society.  The application was reviewed by the HKN Professional Member Committee and approved by the Executive Committee of the IEEE-HKN Board of Governors.  She was inducted at a Professional Member ceremony hosted at the Region 9 Conference in Panama City, Panama.  The Induction Ritual was presided over by IEEE-HKN 2023 President Sampathkumar Veeraraghavan , he was joined by chair of the Professional Member Committee Enrique Tejera, and past HKN Board Member Lorena Garcia.  All HKN members at Region 9 joined in to congratulate and celebrate the new members of the Eta Chapter of IEEE-HKN.