Three Women to Receive 2020 IEEE Technical Field Awards
By, Lynn Frasetti

Evelyn L. Hu

Eve. M. Schooler

Solveig M. Ward

In 2020, three women—Evelyn L. Hu, Eve. M. Schooler, and Solveig M. Ward—will receive Technical Field Awards, which are some of the highest awards given on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors.

IEEE Fellow Evelyn L. Hu will receive the IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award “for pioneering contributions to microelectronics fabrication technologies for nanoscale and photonic devices.” Hu’s innovative work in micro- and nanofabrication technologies has enabled the continued shrinking of integrated circuits. Industrial and academic research groups use her methods to achieve nanometer-scale control over device geometries while maintaining excellent optical properties, impacting areas ranging from telecommunications to high-speed electronics. Her work has resulted in lasers with record low threshold values, single-photon sources, improved extraction of light from indium-gallium-nitride light emitting diodes (LEDs), and coupled light-matter states. She will receive the award in May at the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) in San Jose, California, USA.

IEEE Senior Member Eve. M. Schooler is a co-recipient of the IEEE Internet Award “for distinguished leadership in developing standards for Internet multimedia, and formative contributions to the design of Internet multimedia protocols.”  Schooler’s work on early multimedia signaling protocols was instrumental in demonstrating the feasibility of Internet packet audio and video and scalable collaborative systems. She brought these innovations into the standards arena, where she led the Multiparty Multimedia Session Control (MMUSIC) working group in the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) for many years. She co-authored the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP), a widely adopted standard for Internet telephony and multimedia conferencing, and she developed real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) extensions, enabling large-scale IPTV deployment. She will receive the award at the 2020 International Conference on Communications in Dublin, Ireland.

The IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award will be given to IEEE Fellow Solveig M. Ward “for leadership in and contributions to protection and communication standards for improved power system reliability.” Ward has led and participated in the development of a large number of industry standards including wide area protection, cyber security, protection system management systems, and communication protocols including IEC 61850. She has led or participated in the development of industry standards in the important areas of power system communications and redundancy that have been of great use for the industry, and her work has resulted in significantly more reliable and faster protection, preventing wide spread power system outages and equipment failures. She will receive the award at the 2020 IEEE PES General Meeting on 4 August in Montreal, Canada.

For more information about these and other award recipients, go to: